She’s Crafty


Watch out people, I’ve been getting crafty! Wallpaper, fabric glue, spray paint. The fun just never ends around here folks.

First, I channeled my mom circa 1986 and wallpapered! Before you judge {and you wouldn’t judge if you read Elle Decor} wallpaper has made a comeback just like neon sunglasses. I love reading Elle Decor and in every issue there is some insane house that has a wall that is papered. One day I want an insane house that is featured in Elle Decor, so good gawd, I had to immediately start practicing. I had a corner in the living room that need a little ju-jus and just begging to be papered…

I found this subtle paper at Graham & Brown. I loved it because it blended with the wallcolor but had added interest. Of course I took one look at the directions and had to recruit my mom, who I think at one time had wallpapered our entire house in the late 80s. So anyways, I love how it turned out and thanks to my mom for inducting me into the Wallpaper Club of America.

My second craft was to reupholster a lamp shade…is that what you’d call it?

I found directions online but I inadvertently challenged myself by re-doing a funky shaped shade. Of course all the online directions were for round shades. Okay, so it took me 1.5 hours to do two shades but I think they gave some life to our bedside tables!


Now I’m left with finding new pillows for the bed and something to hang above it. I want to add some color! Suggestions, fellow crafty wives?

Oh, the fun didn’t stop there. I’ve always dreamed of a craft room…and while we’re short of having just an extra room that I can dedicate to ribbons and glue, we do have a corner in the unfinished part of the basement. {I can practically hear your jealously.} And while I don’t have $1,000 to drop on pimping said craft room out, I did have $40 to spend on a peg board and blue spray paint. {Elle Decor will never see this coming!} I unveil: an amateur housewife craft room, uh, corner…

so how’s that for being housewifey?

This entry was posted in Home Decor, Training. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to She’s Crafty

  1. mxq says:

    kim…. i think your training days are over and you need to start training others. like me. 🙂

    when you're finished with all your stuff, feel free to head to my place. i have a nursery project with your name on it! :)P

    -Pamela

Leave a Reply

