Making the Bed: Part II

I’m not sure what it means but since moving into our house 4 years ago, I’ve “re-done” our bedding 3 times. I don’t know why I can’t get it right but I think I may have finally figured it out. A couple of years ago I added the stripes to the wall and ever since then have been trying to find the right look to match this dramatic backdrop.

The white bedding, although simple just wasn’t doing it for me. I needed color!

Enter the lime green and swirls. I really loved this look….although after 10 months of this I felt it was a little juvenile. I mean, I did turn 30 and all of a sudden felt I needed to set the world on fire with my sophistication. Gawf.

So when I came across this inspiration I knew I’d found what I was looking for!

The fabric headboard was the answer! At the same time my growing belly and need for 6 pillows in the bed meant Mat was feeling a little crowded in our Queen and decided we could upgrade to a new King-sized mattress! So a new headboard was practically mandatory. Had I not already changed the room a couple times I’m sure I could have justified to Mat purchasing a new fabric headboard for $1,500+. But alas he was on to me and my indecisive decorating. Luckily my mom is superwoman and agreed to make the headboard with me! A little Google action and we had found directions that seemed easy enough. I purchased the materials – board, batting, foam, fabric, button maker, and nail-trim for about $250. I’m so thrifty! A very quick 3 hours later I had my fabric headboard…

I mean, so easy, so close to the inspiration photo and such a steal! Luckily we finished the headboard right before Christmas so the sheets, duvet cover, blanket, pillows, etc. were all presents! {I’m kicking myself for not fluffing the pillows before I took this picture! Use your imagination to style the photo to magazine straight-ness}. I got rid of the bedside lamps and opted for sconces to give it a more hotel-like feeling. I still would like to get different bedside tables but right now I’m loving the look!

This entry was posted in Getting crafty, Home Decor. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Making the Bed: Part II

  1. Stacie says:

    Absolutely love the room and headboard!! Once we get into our new home I will have to hit you up for the instructions, and possibly your mom 🙂

Leave a Reply

