The {empty} nursery.

Wasn’t it funny how at 37 weeks I titled the post, “The Final Countdown”….oh to be 37 weeks and thinking I would be having the baby early and by April 13, I would be home and cuddling that little precious bambino. Well, I have been home. At a very, very clean and well-organized home might I add. But the only thing I’m cuddling at 40 weeks-4 days is Dixie and a lot of clean towels. While I wait, I get bigger….

I really am not complaining though, I still feel great! Dixie and I have been spending a lot of quality time together and this has given me plenty of time to vacuum the baby’s room and continue to stew about the rocker STILL not being here. Don’t get me started. But since I’ve officially washed the stove-top grates twice this week, I’m left with nothing but  to update the blog and I’m going to share pics of the nursery….incomplete, without my beloved, now hated, rocker, that totally makes the room. Next time you see it, hopefully I will be rocking a baby boy in it. I’m sure it will be much cuter with him in it anyways.

The Nursery:

The colors of the room are orange & gray with pops of green & blue. I love that the abacus (from cb2.com) ended up having all the colors of the room in it!

The shelves above the dresser hold photos of our families…including an old college high-jump photo of my dad and basketball photo of Mat’s dad.

I searched high and low for a letter “M” to place in an empty frame above the dresser. I wanted vintage but couldn’t find a letter large enough. I ended up getting this one from CraftCuts.com.

The “book nook”. I love the wire baskets I found from Ballard Design.

I wanted a statement print in the room so my talented friend Courtney from Courtney Winet Designs created this for me. I told her I wanted to use the lyrics from the Lynyrd Skynyrd song, “Simple Man.” I think the lyrics include great pieces of advice and wisdom from mother-to-son. I can imagine one day dancing with him to this song on his wedding day.

The temporary chair…although it’s cute and matches, it is really small {and doesn’t rock.} It’s a vintage chair that I had recovered for in our basement. Ever notice how vintage furniture is a lot shorter than the new stuff? Mat looks like a giant sitting in this chair. I think the baby will be able to take up most of the chair the day we bring him home. The lamp is also temporary…when I get the chair then I’ll be able to decide what type of lamp or pendent to put there.

There you have it! I look forward to the next photos I share with you being those of my little bambino.

UPDATE

The chair arrived! Yippee…

It totally makes the room complete now.

XOXO

P.S.- As I searched for inspiration for the room I always wanted to know where people found things. Here is a rundown if you’re interested:

Crib: Dwell Studio from Target

Abacus from cb2.com

Orange striped sheets from Giggle.com

Gray polka dot bed skirt is Dwell Studio

Wire ball basket is from The Container Store

Wire book baskets from Ballard Designs

Simple Man Poster from Courtney Winet Designs

Letter “M” from Craftcuts.com

Dresser from Target

Orange Dresser Knobs from Hobby Lobby

Espresso Changing Pad base from Cribs.com

Orange Changing Pad cover from Etsy (Little Owl’s Nest)

This entry was posted in Babies, Belly Pics, Home Decor, Nursery, Preggers. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The {empty} nursery.

  1. Danielle says:

    I have ALWAYS wanted that abacus! *jealous*

  2. Stacie says:

    The simple man poster is amazing! Love the song too. So stinkin creative! Nursery is amazing!

Leave a Reply

